top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrisha J Kelly

The Forest by Julia Blake


The Forest by Julia Blake

As promised, another review for you! I can't quite believe I've done so much writing and reading through January so far! Today I'm featuring this book: The Forest by Julia Blake.

The book itself was written over the space of three months, however, the perfection of the writing spanned out over a ten year period! It shows! I was fascinated by the cover to begin with, it kept popping up and I knew this time I had to buy the paperback and not the ebook. I'm glad I did, it is wonderfully set out.

The folklore and legend described in this piece really is all consuming. With intricate attention to detail spanning out over hundreds of years, you get a real feel for the families and characters. None more so than the current cast, who you will attach yourself to for different reasons. Now, the time has come for these three to become involved in the drama that is unfolding. They have no choice, fate will play its hand, trying to destroy them. A curse demanding inevitable deaths, is once again threatening the villagers, just as it has so many times before.

The negative energies are rising deep in the Forest, powerful magic, treachery and deceit entrap timeless beings. Only the chosen long line of Foresters can cross the invisible barriers to the inner depths of those lost in time.

When Mad Meg dissapears into the Forest centuries ago she meets a man with fire in his eyes; he was made from leaves and his hair was of roots. The man impressed words deep inside her troubled mind. The girl relayed the words before she slipped away into the shadow of death.

The words were never forgotten, written down by the villagers who knew not of their meaning. Once again the villagers are awaiting impending death. The White Hind has been seen, she always appears when the time has come. In this generation, Sally, Jack and Reuben are the chosen triangle of victims as events unfold... Julia Blake has written several books and I can promise you writing of the highest calibre. She lives in Bury St Edmunds in Suffolk, UK. This is the link for her website where you will find many books to peruse. I highly recommend The Forest.

Thanks for reading. I will bring you my next review in February. Look out for my thoughts on Eva Pasco! Another extremely talented writer.


Trisha J. Kelly




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page