top of page
  • Writer's pictureTrisha J Kelly

My latest review for author J. New


Jacquie New - mystery writer

I started reading Jacquie New's books in 2018. We crossed paths in the writing world and she gave me some great help and advice with the covers for my Scarlett and Mason series. Thank you for your kindness there, Jacquie. With your help, I had a fantastic set of hand drawn covers made. They are unique and do stand out! I then discovered this author wrote my favourite genre - mysteries! They are charming stories, well-written, contain great plots and a host of characters that you will fall in love with. Understandably, they have best-seller status among them.

We have two series of books:

Firstly, The Yellow Cottage Vintage Mystery Series books 1-4. I have read the entire collection and you are in for a treat if you are a fan of Miss Marple type settings. I'm not the only reader to arrive at this conclusion, they really are of a terrific standard of writing.

Next, we have a new series out which is equally as good! The Finch & Fischer Mysteries. Again, the series has the good old-fashioned values of the characters, idyllic settings and all the charm murders can muster!

The first set of books feature the protaganist, Ella. She finds an unusual helper in the form of 'Phantom,' a deceased cat whose spirit lingers in the house she moves into. Find out more about the reason for the choice of the location as the author takes you back to her own childhood memories in her autobiography.

The second series has two published books so far. They feature the protaganist, Penny. Her sidekick is a delightful little chap called Fischer, her friendly pup and companion, who also happens to have a nose for mischief and bad guys or girls!

If gentle cozy mysteries are your thing, then these books are for you. Every one has a 5* seal of approval from me! Why not lose yourself for a few hours indulging in these whodunnits while forming a bond with all the main characters. I highly recommend. This is a link to Amazon UK:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/J.-New/e/B00SLHW83G

Jacquie's books are available with universal links too. These are images of the first book in each series:







I hope you take the time to have a look. You won't be disappointed! For more information click on this website: https://www.jnewwrites.com/ On a personal note, I've just completed writing stories for charity and now I'm on full steam ahead writing my debut Cozy Mystery. Look out for, A Murder Most Tropical by Trisha J. Kelly, this spring! Happy reading folks.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page